A European project for Templars heritage

In 2012, the Department of Aube devoted its cultural year to the Templars, whose central event was the exhibition “Templars, an history, our treasureé” organized by the Departmental Council. It was during the international colloquium of this event that the Aubois and the Portuguese discussed for the first time the possibility of creating a European Cultural Route of the Templars.

While the department of Aube represents “the Alpha” of the route, the cradle of the Templars, the city of Tomar constitutes “the Omega”, the longest surviving site of the Order.

The history of the Temple Order is closely linked to the department. Hugues de Payns, a native of a village near Troyes, is the founder and first master of the Temple, an order recognized during the Council of Troyes in 1129. The rule of the Order was drawn up and adopted under the aegis of Bernard de Clairvaux. Champagne provided major figures of the Order of the Temple and the Crusades.

The city of Tomar, located in the heart of Portugal, was founded in 1160 as the headquarters of the Templars. It was the last provincial Templar seat in Europe. Listed by UNESCO as World Heritage, it preserves a Templar heritage in perfect condition, including the castle, the Convent of Christ and the tombs of the first Templars.

In 2014, to commemorate the 700 years of death at the stake of Jacques de Molay, last grand master of the Order of the Temple, the Dawn and Tomar decided to unite around the theme of the Templars and to create a European Cultural Route (ICE) entitled: “European Templar Route”.

To make this project a reality, the two territories created the Templars Route European Federation association in 2016.

To date, the members are:

  • France via the Departmental Council of Aube,
  • Portugal via the MPH association called “Mosteiros de Portugal – Associação das Cidades”
  • Spain via the city of Ponferrada,
  • Italy via the city of Perugia
  • England via Temple Church in London

Lors de l’assemblée constitutive du 12 juillet 2016 à Troyes (France) Gérard ANCELIN, président de la commission Économie, enseignement supérieur, tourisme et valorisation culturelle au Conseil départemental de l’Aube (France), a été élu Président pour un mandat de 3 ans. Il est secondé par la vice-présidence d’Anabela FREITAS, maire de Tomar, Andrea ROMIZI, Maire de Pérouse (Italie), Maria Antonia GANCEDO LOPEZ Conseillère tourisme et culture à Ponferrada (Espagne).

On July 7, 2017, the members who met in an extraordinary general meeting in Tomar, Portugal, adopted statutes available in French.
Download the statutes

As presented in the statutes of Templars Route European Federation, the “association aims to bring together the territories and institutions of the member states of the Council of Europe, representing these territories (states, departments, intercommunalities, municipalities, associations, …) which were impacted by the presence of the Templars around the following orientations:

  • Encourage exchanges by organizing meetings, symposia, publications related to universities, cultural institutions and history associations.
  • Promote and support actions to enhance the Templar heritage
  • Develop animation and promotion actions through the creation of exhibitions, artistic, cultural events and discovery circuits, particularly in the context of tourist, school and university exchanges.

As part of the European Cultural Routes program, the Templar Route undertakes to fulfill the following objectives:

  1. Cooperation in research and development
  2. Promotion of European memory, history and heritage
  3. Cultural and educational exchanges of young Europeans
  4. Contemporary practice of culture and the arts
  5. Cultural tourism and sustainable cultural development

The scientific committee guarantees the heritage legitimacy of the Route des Templiers as a European Cultural Route. It is responsible for validating the scientific information which is the subject of publication, enriching knowledge on the Templar ecosystem and developing international social, cultural and economic ties.

  • Honorary President: Alain DEMURGER, Honorary Lecturer at the University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, France
  • President: Arnaud BAUDIN, Deputy Director at the Archives and Heritage Department of Aube, France


  • Damien CARRAZ, lecturer at Blaise Pascal University (Clermont-Ferrand)
  • Pierre-Vincent CLAVERIE, independent researcher
  • François GILET, independent historian
  • Philippe JOSSERAND, lecturer at the University of Nantes
  • Thierry LEROY, doctor of history
  • Cédric ROMS, National Institute for Preventive Archaeological Research
  • Vincent MARCHAISSEAU, National Institute for Preventive Archaeological Research


  • Mirko SANTANICCHIA, Doctor and professor at the Università degli Studi di Perugia
  • Gaetano CURZI, Doctor and professor at the Università di Chieti – Pescara
  • Giuliano ROMALLI, ISCR Istituto superiore per la conservazione ed il restauro, Ministero dei Beni Culturali, Roma)
  • Sonia MERLI, Doctor of history
  • Elena BELLOMO, Doctor of History


  • Maria João BRANCO, Doctor of History and Professor of Medieval History at the Faculty of Social and Human Sciences, New University of Lisbon
  • Hermenegildo FERNANDES, Doctor of history specializing in medieval history, medieval Islam and the history of Gharb al-Andalus at the University of Lisbon
  • Ernesto JANA, Professor, historian at the “Olissiponenses” design office
  • Gomes Martins MIGUEL, Doctor of history and professor of medieval history at CMLisboa and New University of Lisbon
  • Joaquim NUNES, Founding member of the Templ’Anima Association
  • Carlos RODARTE VELOSO, Coordinating professor of artistic and cultural history in the Department of Tourist and Cultural Management of the Higher School of the Polytechnic School of Tomar


  • Joan FUGUET I SANS, Doctor and professor of history at the School of Conservation and Restoration of Catalonia

United Kingdom:

  • Helen NICHOLSON, Professor at the University of Cardiff (Wales)


  • Nicholas COUREAS, researcher at the Cyprus Research Center, Department of History

Téléchargez ici la charte du comité scientifique

Join the team !

Join us as associate member


Les membres actifs ou associés sont des personnes physiques ou morales, ou bien des institutions qui ont une relation directe avec l’objet de l’association, et qui souhaitent s’associer au projet « Route des Templiers »